Tom Laswell Scholarship

The Tom Laswell Scholarship was established in 1992 in honor of Owensboro business and civic leader Thomas C. Laswell, Jr.  An active Rotarian for 45 years, Laswell was President of Owensboro Rotary in l955, District Governor in 1959, a Paul Harris Fellow in 1979, and "Mr. Rotary" in l993.  The $1,000 scholarship is awarded annually to a recipient from each area high school: Apollo High School, Owensboro High School, Owensboro Catholic High School, Daviess County High School, and Trinity High School. 

Larry Hager Award

During the spring of 1992, Owensboro Rotary began honoring seniors from local high schools and colleges who made significant contributions to their schools through academic achievement and leadership.  The award is named for Owensboro Rotarian Larry Hager in recognition of his long-standing service to the community's children.  The award is presented each spring to a current graduating senior from each local high school and college.  Recipients are selected based on 1) good character, good citizenship, participation in worthwhile activities and wholesome influence on others; 2) compassion, concern and action for others ("Service above Self"); and a scholastic record reflecting earnest effort and consistent progress.